The Cunard Building is a Grade II* listed building in Liverpool, England. Located at the Pier Head and along with the neighbouring Liver Building and Port of Liverpool Building is one of Liverpool's Three Graces, which line the city's waterfront. It is also part of Liverpool's UNESCO designated World Heritage Maritime Mercantile City.
It was designed by William Edward Willink and Philip Coldwell Thicknesse and was constructed between 1914 and 1917. The building's style is a mix of Italian Renaissance and Greek Revival, and its development has been particularly influenced by Italian palace design. The building is noted for the ornate sculptures that adorn its sides.
The building was, from its construction until the 1960s, the headquarters of the Cunard Line, and the building still retains the name of its original tenants. It was also home to Cunard's passenger facilities for trans-Atlantic journeys that departed from Liverpool. Today, the building is owned by Liverpool City Council and is home to numerous public and private sector organisations including The British Music Experience. It is located diagonally across the Strand from Albion House, the former headquarters of White Star Line.
Today, the ground floor of the building remains just as impressive. An eclectic fusion of Italian Renaissance and Greek Revival design and is definitely worth a trip to have a look around.
The Cunard Building offers the most breath-taking space suitable for all occasions including conferences, meetings, exhibitions and banquets for up to 680 delegates. Home to Cunard House a beautiful restaurant and wedding venue.